Marysville Raceway
Phone: (530) 350-7275
Sanders Sweeps The Competition

Marysville, CA (February 14, 2018) – Justin Sanders was perfect at the Toller Memorial on Saturday night. The first race of the season was dominated by the former track champion who turned the fastest lap in qualifying, won his heat race and bested a 22-car starting field to win the 30-lap main event. It was an impressive way to start this new teaming of a potent car and a championship driver. Over the winter Sanders was pegged to drive the famed Mike Phulps Metal Works/Longcreek Ranch and Winery/North County Plastering No. 56.
In route to his win, Sanders is now a 2-time winner of the Toller Memorial. He joins Jeremy Burt as the only driver with repeat wins during the 10-year history of this race. Sanders previous win came in 2015.
Auburn’s Andy Forsberg applied plenty of pressure to Sanders throughout the race and really had a shot for a pass as the two negotiated slower traffic. But a late caution brought out by Dustin Freitas allowed Sanders to restart with a clear track ahead of him and from the point on he was untouchable.
Billy Wallace looked like his old self and raced to a solid third place finish. Both Sean Becker and Shane Golobic started deep in the field and maneuvered their way up to a top five finish. Becker started 15th while Golobic started 12th.
Another hard charger was Lucas Ashe who started 19th and finished 8th.
The real heroes of the night were the fans who braved the frigid like temperatures. It was another testament of who dedicated our local fans are to dirt track racing.
The RaceSaver Sprints brought three competitors to the Toller Memorial. The new division at Marysville Raceway will continue to grow. Monty Ferreira won the main event. Tim Sherman Jr. and Jacob Pacheco were the final two finishers.
Full Results from the Toller Memorial can be found here