Another Solid Night of Racing at Marysville

Another Solid Night of Racing at Marysville


Marysville Raceway (530.350.7275)               


Another Solid Night of Racing at Marysville


Marysville, CA – (5-21-22) …Auto racing at Marysville Raceway continues to deliver big time entertainment for the fans. A solid turnout of 23 Hobby Stocks, 22-winged 360 sprint cars, and nine BCRA Lightning Sprints all raced during the ninth point show at Marysville. In the end, Dylan Bloomfield won the 25-lap winged 360 sprint car main event, Kyle Cheney won the race of the night in the Hobby Stock 20-lap feature, and Greg Dennett outlasted the competition to win the BCRA Lightning Sprints finale.

The Hobby Stock main event was the most exciting race of the night. The race featured a full field of stars and cars, but the race for the win was all about two drivers. Howard Law, the current point leader, and winner of three of the last four main events, came into the race as the odds-on favorite to win. Yet, Kyle Cheney had other plans. These two drivers not only showcased their talented driving skills but raced the entire 20-laps back and forth up front. Cheney led the first half of the race. Then it was Law’s turn to lead. Law took the white flag as the leader and seemed to have sealed the deal. To Cheney’s credit, he never gave up and drove the perfect line and passed Law for the lead. At the checkered flag the two were only separated by 0.078 seconds. Maurice Merrill was solid all night. In fact, he held the third spot for the entire 20-lap distance. Both Zach Lindgren and Joe Gillock started deep in the field and charged into the top five. Preston Hughes ran sixth. Rookie Sebastian Davis was in the top for a while but ended up seventh, a great finish for him. Law, Cheney, and Hughes each won their eight la heat race. Hobby Stocks return June 18th for their next point race.

Bobby Butler continues to lead the winged 360 sprint car point standings even after another round of bad luck. Butler was leading the main event when unfortunately, on lap 11 a car he was going to lap spun and stopped in front of him. Butler had nowhere to go and hit the parked car. Butler’s race car was damaged beyond repair. This turned over the lead to Dylan Bloomfield. From that point on, Bloomfield would lead the next 14-laps and get the popular win. Following him was seventh place starting Michael Wasina. The hard charger of the night was Chico’s Brad Bumgarner. Starting outside the top 10, Bumgarner methodically picked off drivers lap by lap and scored an impressive third place finish. On lap 14, two of the top runners crashed. Fast-time qualifier Carson Hall and Billy Wallace came together. Wallace ended up flipping over. Korey Lovell finished in the fourth spot. Lovell has been sneaky good this season. Nick Larson finished fifth. Dawson Hammes, William Fielding, and Wasina won their heat races.

BCRA Lightning Sprints driver Joseph Feralito led the first 13-laps of their main event with ease. Then unexpectedly, his car stalled out coming off turn two and he pulled off the track. New leader was Greg Dennett. Dennett went on to lead the final seven laps with no problems. Matt Land finished in the second spot. Harlee Aguilera came home in third. Tyler Gerdes was the last car to finish the race and was scored fourth. Brandon Leady was the fastest qualifier. Heat race wins went to Aguilera and Land.

Full results located here