Cheney Thrills Crowd with Win

Cheney Thrills Crowd with Win


Contact: Marysville Raceway;

Cheney Thrills Crowd After a Long Night of Racing

MARYSVILLE, Calif., June 15, 2024…The Turn-Key ATM Hobby Stock main event might have been the last race to roll out on to the track Saturday night at Marysville Raceway, but it was the best race of the evening. The final few laps were spectacular. Race leader Matt Beardslee had been up front since lap three. Beardslee was holding off the likes of Howard Law and Jacob Bright for most of the race. Lurking in the distance was Kyle Cheney. Tonight, Cheney started 11th and had raced into fourth on lap 13. The next few laps he chased down Law and Bright. From lap seven to lap 17, Law and Bright battled for the second spot. Then everything changed with two laps remaining. Cheney, who had been patiently waiting for his chance, seized the opportunity and not only passed Bright and Law, but somehow passed Beardslee for the lead on the final circuit. The crowd went wild. Cheney led the final lap and held off Law to get the win. Law finished in the second spot. Matt Beardslee was credited with third. He was so close to that first win of the season. Jason Clayton Sr. bounced back from an early issue and finished fourth. Dave Thompson had a solid race and finished fifth. Two drivers that had finished in the top five on the track were later disqualified in tech after the feature. They were Jacob Bright and Zach Lindgren. It was Cheney’s fourth win of the season. Cheney also wo the third heat race giving him a clean sweep.

Brian McGahan Jr. returned to his championship track and dominated the 360-sprint car night. McGahan Jr. turned the fastest lap in qualifying, won his first heat race, and went on to win the 25-lap feature event. In victory lane the team brought an actual broom out to the front stretch to celebrate. McGahan Jr. led all 25-laps of the feature event. Behind him, the racing was fast and fierce. Carson Hammes and Drake Standley were battling for the second spot most of the race. These two are also locked in an intense championship battle. Unfortunately for Hammes, he had a mechanical failure on lap 22 that ended his night. Standley was able to hold down the second spot at the checkered flag and gain valuable championship points over Hammes. The driver who brought the most entertainment to the track tonight was 2022 track champion Bobby Butler. He started 12th in the main event and raced his way into a third-place finish. It was an impressive drive for Butler and his team. Koa Crane ran up front most of the night and finished fourth. William Fielding brought the Richardson owned No. 8 car home fifth. Nick Larson had a solid night and was running in the second spot on lap 23 until he spun around in turn four. Billy Wallace won the third heat race tonight. Crane picked up the win in heat two.

Matthew Kaiser passed Cort Marchuck on lap seven and went on to win the 20-lap Dirt Solution Crate Sprint main event. It was his second win of the season. Koa Crane, a four-time winner this year, finished in the second spot. Ninth place starting Jason Ballantine raced his way into a third-place finish. Chasing him from the tenth starting spot was Jacob Johnson who finished fifth. Kevin Lovell was solid all night and finished fourth. Caleb Ingle had raced his way into the third spot on lap 13 and stayed there until a late race restart. Ingle finished seventh. Misty Castleberry’s luck has been non-existent, and she struggled to muster a sixth-place finish. A yellow was needed on lap 18 when Marchuck and Scott Kilroy stopped. Kaiser never faltered and led the final two laps with confidence to get the win. Crane won the first heat race. It was good to see Kelly Hicks win heat race two.

The IMCA Sport Mod feature event was a barn burner. Shannon Barton officially led the entire 20-lap main event, but Mark Garner did take the lead on the track going into turn three on the final lap, but Barton slid under him coming out of turn four and narrowly beat Garner to the checkered flag. The third spot went to Raymond Lindeman. Scott Savell came home in the fourth spot. Shaun Merritt rounded out the top five. Only eight cars competed tonight. KC Carpenter, Mike Merritt and Jimmy Ford completed the running order. Barton won the first and only heat race of the night.

Full results are located at