Howard Law Wins Race and Hobby Stock Championship

Howard Law Wins Race and Hobby Stock Championship


Marysville Raceway (530.350.7275)               


Howard Law Wins Hobby Stock Championship


Marysville, CA – (8-13-22) …Howard Law left no doubt in anyone’s mind who was the most dominant driver in the Hobby Stock division at Marysville Raceway in 2022. Law wrapped up his incredible season by winning his 6th feature of the year and capping it off by celebrating on the front stretch with over 30 family and friends. “It’s been a great season and I could not have done this without all of the support I received this year,” said Law. In nine starts this season, Law won six of the main events, including tonight, and never finished outside the top five the other three races.


Casey Schmitz continued his rise to the top in winged 360 sprint car racing by winning the 25-lap feature for the second time in a row. Schmitz powered by early leader Bobby Butler on lap 12 and never looked back. In fact, he held a two-second advantage at the checkered flag over second place finisher Brad Bumgarner. On lap 15 things heated up between Bumgarner and high-flying Bradley Terrell. Unfortunately for Terrell his night came to an end when he hooked a rut in turn two that sent him upside down. This moved Nick Larsen into third place. Heath Hall was competitive all night and finished fourth. Dawson Hammes over came a flip in his heat race, to battle back and finish fifth in the main event. The final red flag waived on lap 21 when Carson Hall was also gobbled up by the rough patch in turns one and two. Billy Wallace won the first heat race. Butler grabbed the win in heat two. Hall won the third and final heat. Bumgarner picked up the fast time award tonight by turning a lap of 12.579. Bumgarner earned an extra $100 from Paul Olmsted Plastering for the fast lap.


Gary Holsey, Joe Gillock, and Howard Law each won their eight-lap heat race earlier in the night. The 20-lap main event featured 22 drivers taking the original green flag. Keith Ross jumped out to the early lead. On lap 11 he was passed by Gary Holsey. Disaster struck for Holsey as he was lapping a slower car down the front stretch and the two made contact. Holsey’s right rear tire was flattened, and he had to pit. Ross inherited the lead and went on to cross the finish line first. Following the completion of the race it was relayed to the booth that Ross had failed tech and disqualified. The win was transferred to Law. The most impressive charge though the field had to be Kyle Cheney. Starting in the fifth row, Cheney methodically worked his way through the field and into a second-place finish. With his strong finish, Cheney also secured the second-place finish in the overall point championship. Toby Merrifield drove a great race and was competitive all night. Merrifield finished a solid third place. Joe Gillock bested Zack Lindgren for fourth spot. Lindgren finished third overall in the championship points.


2021 Western Midget Racing presented by Masters Design and Construction champion Blake Bower won his 19th career feature on Saturday night at Marysville, equaling David Prickett for the all-time wins mark in the stock production powered Midgets. The win also wrapped up Bower’s third consecutive WMR weekend sweep and boosted him to 11 wins in the 2022 series. Oakley’s Bryant Bell and Santa Cruz’ Logan Mitchell split the eight-lap heat races. Three incidents slowed the attempts at getting the feature underway. Peoria, Ariz.’s Cory Brown flipped in turn one, ending a challenging weekend for the long tow driver of the No. 32 Blud Lubricants machine. On the following try, Bower slid sideways which collected Mitchell. Both were able to continue after the caution fell. Bell slid to a stop in turn one on the third restart, sparking a multi-car melee. Paradise Valley, Ariz.’s Greg Jewett flipped while Lodi’s Nate Wait, Las Vegas’ Kyle Hawse, and Yuba City’s Nick Van Atta suffered race ending crashes as well. 360 Sprint Car winner Casey Schmitz of Chico retired under the red flag with a fuel pump issue. Concord’s Adam Teves led the first three laps before Bower found the long way around the top of turn one, charging past Teves to lead lap four. Bell spun in turn one for an additional caution which set up a green-white-checkered finish. Bower held off Teves, Bell, and Rancho Cordova’s Craig Holsted for the win. Mitchell was scored fifth.


Ron Ruiz held off Roger McShain to win the Vintage Hardtop feature event. The 15-lap race saw Clay Foster finish third. Ken Clifford was the fourth and final finisher.


Full results can be found here