Justin Sanders Claims his Second Win of 2015

Justin Sanders Claims his Second Win of 2015

(Marysville, CA 4-18-15) . . . Watsonville’s Justin Sanders drove by early race leader Heath Hall to claim victory in the 360 winged sprint car main event on Saturday night at Marysville Raceway. Sixty-three cars signed into the pits among five different divisions for points race #2. The 360 winged sprint cars, and mini stocks returned to action for their second points championship race while the wingless sprints and super stocks got their championship points race underway. Other winners during the night included Misty Castleberry, Jimmy Ford, Tim Sherman Jr., and Cortney Dozier.

Outside pole sitter Heath Hall jumped out to the lead on the opening lap of the 20 car, 25-lap main. Hall approached slower traffic on lap twelve allowing Sanders and Jonathan Allard to close in, however, the caution flag would waive on lap 13 and give Hall a clear track ahead of him for the restart. On the ensuing start, Sanders would get a run on Hall in turns one and two for the lead, yet, Hall was able to fend off Sanders and maintain the top spot.




On lap 18 Sanders was finally able to figure out the bottom of the track and passed Hall for the lead. Allard followed suite and passed Hall for second. Sanders encountered lap traffic on lap 20 allowing Allard to close in and battle for the lead. The caution flag would fly once again on lap 21 opening up the track in front of race leader Sanders. From here on out Sanders was able to hold off Allard for the final four laps to claim his second win of 2015 at Marysville Raceway. Allard would come home second, Hall third, Jeremy Burt fourth, and Brad Bumgarner fifth. Korey Lovell earned the honor of hard charger on the night advancing from his 19th starting position to finish 10th.

Brent Dothage took the lead on the opening lap of the 12 lap B main and held off second place finisher Peter Paulson. Brandon Dozier, Korey Lovell, and Jimmy Steward rounded out the top five. These five drivers transferred to the main event. The eight-lap heat race victories were claimed by Hall, Bumgarner and rookie driver DJ Freitas. Cody Lamar set the standard in qualifying claiming his first fast time award of 2015 with a lap of 12.852.

Misty Castleberry has been unbeatable this season in the Pro 4 sprints division. Castleberry jumped out to an early lead on the opening lap and went on to win again. Tim MacLauglin would try to put an end to Castleberry’s winning streak as he closed in on lap three of the race. The main event tightened even more as Castleberry and MacLaughlin would catch up to lap traffic on lap seven. MacLaughlin gave it all he had but Castleberry was able to hold him off and claim her third straight main event win. Maclauglin would finish second and Craig Morrison rounded out the podium. Tim MacLauglin claimed the lone eight lap heat race.

Misty Castleberry looked to repeat her success in the 15 lap wingless main event. Castleberry started outside the front row and jumped out to the early lead. Fourth place starting Tim Sherman Jr tightened the race for the lead on lap two gaining on Castleberry. On lap 4 Josh Vieira jumped into the mix making it a three car battle for the lead. Castleberry was able to fend off numerous charges from Sherman Jr until coming to the white flag, Sherman Jr got a run on Castleberry banging wheels in turn four giving the lead to Sherman Jr. He went on to lead the final lap to claim victory over second place finishing Castleberry, and third place finisher Josh Vieira. Two individual eight lap heat race victories went to Tony Godwin and Tim Sherman Jr.

The super stocks made their first appearance of the season at Marysville Raceway on Saturday night. Courtney Dozier jumped out to the early lead and led the race wire to wire to claim the victory. Mike Walcko came home second, and Jerry Bartlett rounded out the podium. Rick Dozier won the lone 8 lap heat race.

Pole sitter Jimmy Ford looked for the sweep in the 15 lap mini stock main event. Ford jumped out to the lead on the opening lap and went wire to wire to win the main event. The battle on the track was for second place as Shaun Merritt and Damian Merritt battled it out. Damian claimed the second place finish at the line with Shaun rounding out the podium. Jimmy Ford won the eight lap heat race. 

Marysville Raceway returns to action next Saturday night April 25th for point’s race #3. The Winged 410 Sprint cars will be making their first appearance of the season along with the Economy Sprints, Hobby Stocks, Dwarf Cars, and Sport Modifieds. Pit Gate opens at 3:00pm, Front gate opens at 5pm.

Complete results can be found at http://www.mylaps.com/en/events/1120390 .

More information can be found at www.marysvilleraceway.com/