Lindgren, Schmitz, and Merritt Win During Bike Night

Lindgren, Schmitz, and Merritt Win During Bike Night


Marysville Raceway (530.350.7275)               


Casey Schmitz Picks up Win at Marysville


Marysville, CA – (8-6-22) …Excitement was in the air Saturday night at Marysville Raceway. Not only did the track hold the popular bike night for the kids, but the track hosted point race number 14, and it provided thrills and spills for the large crowd. Casey Schmitz bested a field of 19-winged sprint cars to get the popular win during the 25-lap main event. Zach Lindgren led 16 of the 20 laps to secure his first win of the season during the 20-lap Hobby Stock thriller. Anytime a driver can hold off Howard Law for the win, that person should be showered with champagne.


The IMCA Sport Mod main event did take a while to get going. There is no denying that. Yet, once the drivers got settled in and the pace was consistent, the racing was on point. For example, lets give credit to Scott Savell. The longtime supporter of Marysville was up front and running a great race. In fact, he had led the event since the third lap. While all the carnage was behind him, at times it is hard to keep focused as the leader and run smooth laps up front. He was able to focus and get the job done. Until the final turn. As he held the bottom line going into the third turn, and just a few 100 feet away from the win, his car suddenly slowed. Savell sat helpless and watched the cars behind him drive towards the checkered flag. Mike Merritt was in the right spot at the right time and drove across the finish line in first place. It was a popular win, but you could tell fell the melancholy from the crowd who sympathized with Savell. Credit should also be given to Andrew Peckham who originally started in the last row. At one point Peckham was sidelined in the one of the accidents. Yet, he is a warrior on the track and battled his way back to an impressive second place finish. Also starting deep in the field was Todd Copper. He too had to survive lots of wrecks to maneuver his way into the third-place spot. Cooper always is a pleasure to watch race. Savell coasted across the line in fourth. Point leader Jimmy Ford rounded out the top five. Kyle Cheney won the first eight-lap heat race. Cooper won the second heat. Phil Marino won the third heat. Merritt, along with the other main event winners, received an extra $100 from Paul Olmsted Plastering.


Bobby Butler did a great job in leading the first 21 laps of the winged 360 sprint car main event. Butler has been the tracks most consistent driver this season. Chasing him was Casey Schmitz. The third driver in the mix was Cody Spencer. These three drivers were the class of the field tonight. Schmitz made his move with less than three laps to go. He went on to lead the final few laps and win the 25-lap race. Butler held onto second. Spencer ran a respectable third. William Fielding moved up quite a bit to finish in fourth. Billy Wallace rounded out the top five. The top three drivers did a great job to avoid slower traffic and put on a thrilling show for the fans in attendance. Fielding picked up the fast time award from Dave’s Trucking. It was an extra $100 cash. Dawson Hammes won the first eight-lap heat race. Butler grabbed the win in heat two. Burt Foland Jr. got the win during heat three.

Once again, the Hobby Stocks provided lots of great racing during their 20-lap finale. Zach Lindgren drove one heck of a race while trying to fend off the best there is this season, the formidable Howard Law. While Lindgren got the win, he also benefited from some timely cautions. A few times Law passed or was going to pass him for the lead, but a caution waived and reverted the scoring back to the previous lap. Lindgren did a great job holding off Law in what appeared to be an ill handling race car at times. Brian Cooper was charging through the field and at one point looked like the car to beat. Unfortunately, on lap 17 he unexpectedly drove through the infield and exited off the track in turn two. Gary Holsey finished in the third spot. Holsey is always fast at Marysville. Kyle Cheney is always in the mix and finished fourth. Jesse Van Roekel rounded out the top five. Van Roekel and Cooper were victorious during the previous two heat races.


Full results can be found here