Nick Baldwin Wins Action Packed Taxi Cab Open

Nick Baldwin Wins Action Packed Taxi Cab Open

Marysville, CA (October 21, 2017) …. Great racing and close main event finishes thrilled the crowd during the annual Taxi Cab Open this past Saturday at Marysville Raceway. Sixty race cars divided up amongst five divisions showcased the skills of great drivers all night long. The five divisions included the pure stocks, hobby stocks, limited late models, street stocks and super stocks. Action occurred all over the quarter-mile clay oval raceway.

Nick Baldwin thrilled the crowd with a late pass to win the 20-lap Pure Stock main event on Saturday night. Baldwin started in the fourth row and quickly worked his way up towards the front. Fifth place starting Scott Grunert grabbed the lead on lap five and led up until the final two laps. Baldwin made his winning move on lap 18. Third place starting Brian Compton moved to the front on lap three before being passed by Grunert on the fifth lap. Seventh place starting Jason Palmer fell back a few positions at the start but methodically worked his way back into the top five. On lap 13 he earned the third spot. It was as far as he could climb. Dan Jinkerson finished in the fourth spot. Compton rounded out the top five. Palmer won the first heat race. Baldwin won heat two. It was a clean sweep for Baldwin. Russ Murphy won the third and final eight lap heat race.

Brian Compton won the 20-lap Hobby Stock main event. Compton started in the eighth spot. Front row starting Brad Ray led the first ten laps. On the eleventh circuit, Compton became the new leader. It was a spot he wouldn’t relinquish. Jason Palmer had an up and down race. Palmer started in the third spot. On lap six he drifted back to the last spot only to charge back through the field. On lap 13 Palmer moved into the second spot. On lap 17, Paul Stevens passed Palmer for second. Stevens started in the sixth spot. Brad Myers also rose to the top of the charts. After starting in the seventh spot, Myers worked his way up to a fourth-place finish. Brian Zachary started outside the front row and did an excellent job hanging up near the front for most of the event. Zachary wound up finishing fifth. Myers and Compton were the two heat race winners.

Steve Hammett jumped out as the early leader of the street stock main event. Hammett held the lead until lap 13 when Sean Smith took over. Smith led the final seven laps to get the popular win. Steve Studebaker started fourth and on lap 14 had moved around Hammett for second. Studebaker would cross the line in second. Hammett held on to finish third. Garrett Agnew ran fourth during most of the race. Bill Hall rounded out the top five. Studebaker and Fred Ryland each won heat races.

Rod Oliver passed Brandon Dozier on the fifth lap and went on to win the Super Stock main event. Steve Studebaker came home in the second spot. Bill Hall ran third. Dozier won the lone heat race for the Super Stocks.

Buster Himan broke through and won the Limited Late Model main event. Rod Oliver finished second and Wayne Trimble in third. Himan passed Oliver with two laps to go. Himan tore away from the rest of the field and led the final two laps. Scott Woessner won the lone heat race.


Pure Stocks
Heat 1: Jason Palmer, Brian Compton, Guy Bean, Jared Mize, Breanna Troen
Heat 2: Nick Baldwin, Dan Jinkerson, Lonnie Leonard, Cameron Swank, Dave Silva
Heat 3: Russ Murphy, Scott Grunert, Travis Emery, Paul Stevens, Brad Myers
A Main: Baldwin, Grunert, Palmer, Jinkerson, Compton, Murphy, Stevens, Bean, Mize, Myers

Street Stock
Heat 1: Steve Studebaker, Steve Hammett, Leif, Berglund, Bill Hall, Garrett Agnew
Heat 2: Fred Ryland, Sean Smith, Dave Silva, Richard Vanderploeg
A Main: Smith, Studebaker, Hammett, Agnew, Hall, Silva, Berglund
Hobby Stocks
Heat 1: Brad Myres, Paul Stevens, Jason Palmer, Brad Ray, Callen Myers,
Heat 2: Brian Compton, Kyle Cheney, Cameron Swank, Brian Zachary, Shannon Collins
A Main: Compton, Stevens, Myers, Ray, Zachery, Collins, Cheney, Troen, Palmer, Swank

Super Stocks
Heat 1: Brandon Dozier, Rod Oliver, Phillip Shelby, Steve Studebaker, Bill Hall
A Main: Oliver, Studebaker, Hall, Ryland, Dozier, Shelby
Limited Late Models
Heat 1: Scott Woessner, Ryan McDaniel, Wayne Trimble, Kiely Ricardo, George Magenheimer
A Main: Buster Himan, Oliver, Trimble, Woessner, McDaniel, Ricardo, Magenheimer