Repeat Winners Saturday Night

Repeat Winners Saturday Night

MARYSVILLE RACEWAY                            by: Gus Fedora Petersen                                                        Wallace, Youngman, and Law Repeat Winners at Marysville

(June 26, 2021)…Billy Wallace led all 25-laps to secure his second sprint car main event win of 2021.  In fact, Wallace became the first two-time winner for the winged 360’s this season.  Wallace held off a hard charging and always exciting Bobby Butler to snag the win.  Butler started the night by winning the $100 qualifying bonus money from Paul Olmsted Plastering.  James Taylor spun on lap six to bring out the first caution.  Taylor’s second spin of the night on lap 18 disqualified him from the final seven laps.  Drake Standley came to a stop on lap 10 just after Butler passed William Fielding for third.  Brian McGahan Jr. was hooked up and flying tonight.  He won the second heat race of the night.  During the main event, he held the second spot until incidental contact with Butler sent him around and to a stop.  He restarted at the rear of the field and never gave up in his pursuit of an 11th place finish.  Dawson Hammes stopped on lap 13.  The final caution flew on lap 21 when Jack Phillips stopped in turn one.  This set up a battle between Wallace and Butler.  Both drivers had to be precise in hitting their marks on a dusty, dry slick race track.  Wallace was able to stay cool, calm, and collected and won the race.  Butler was second.  Korey Lovell had another solid night and finished third.  Hard charging Angelo Cornett was impressive all night and should be commended for his fourth-place finish.  Cornett also won the second heat race.  Fielding drifted back to the fifth-place spot at the finish line.

Brett Youngman made it three for three Saturday night by leading all 20-laps to capture the Crate Sprint main event victory.  The first six laps of the event went nonstop until Kelly Hicks parked it in turn one.  Mike Hall spun two laps later.  On lap 10, Cameron Haney Jr. passed Dusty Barton for second.  Lap 13 saw Wyatt Van Lare and David Simms stop in turn one.  Lap 15, Mike Ballentine spun and collected Kelly Hicks.  Barton was running in the third spot when he spun on the ensuing restart.  Van Lare never gave up and charged back to a third- place finish.  Simms also rebounded to finish fourth.  Up front, Youngman held off Haney Jr. to score the impressive win.  He also picks up an $100 from Paul Olmsted Plastering for the win.  Hall won the first heat.  Youngman won the second eight lap heat.

Jesse Van Roekel led the first lap of the 20 lap Hobby Stock feature; however, Howard Law took the lead on lap two, and went on to dominate the race.  Law bested the 19-car field by over four-seconds.  He was in a class all his own tonight.  The best battle was for second on back.  Jesse held off Chris Van Roekel the entire distance.  Zach Lindgren raced his way into fourth but was never able to pass the Van Roekel’s.  Point leader Jacob Johnson had a spirited race with Jerry Bartlett.  Those two raced hard and clean for the entirety of the race.  Law won the first heat race.  Lindgren grabbed the win in heat two.  Bartlett dominated heat three by nearly three seconds.

Greg Dennett led all 20 laps to win the Lightning Sprints.  It was the first appearance of 2021 for this traveling group.  Dakota Albright spun on lap six in turn four, but his night was not lost.  He drove back to a second-place finish.  Scott Kinney also rebounded from a heat race tip over and scored a third-place finish.  Terry Bergstrom had some difficulty in the main event, almost hitting the white tires in the infield of turn two but managed to continue for a fourth-place finish.

Full results at