Richard Sinnott Memorial Was a Big Hit

Richard Sinnott Memorial Was a Big Hit


Marysville Raceway (530.350.7275)               


Electric Night at Marysville Raceway


Marysville, CA – (7-2-22) …The Fast Cars and Freedom event provided some of the best racing seen all season long at the Marysville Raceway. Point race No. 11 was also in tribute to the late, great, Richard Sinnott. The track was honored to remember Richard during the special Friday night race. Misty Castleberry led an all-star lineup of Crate Sprint Cars, classic custom cars, a box stock kart, and the original rocking No. 04 Super Stock around the Marysville Raceway in an emotional tribute to her dad. At the end of the Memorial Laps, Misty pulled into the infield and placed her dad’s name on the infield plaque area.


Post-race, the fireworks thrilled the capacity crowd. The hot rumor around the track was that Dennis Gage added some extra coin to the fireworks company to extend the light show in the sky.


On track, the drivers delighted the fans with close, competitive racing. Winged 360 sprint car driver Blake Carrick used the high side to his liking and passed race long leader Andy Forsberg with three laps to go. Carrick showed his evolution as a driver. He was patient at times, and aggressive when he needed to be. Older brother Tanner Carrick was just as fun to watch. Tanner looked high and low to try and figure out a way around Blake and Forsberg. Once Blake passed Forsberg, Carrick soon followed. On the final lap, Tanner couldn’t derail the smooth driving style of Blake. John Clark was impressive all night and finished fourth. Nick Larson continued his good finishes by rounding out the top five. Bobby Butler, with his sixth-place finish, will continue as the point leader. Both Justyn Cox and Shane Hopkins passed 10 cars during the 25-lap main event. Cox went from 17th to seventh, while Hopkins went 20th to tenth.


Michael Wasina was cool, calm, and collected as he won the 12-lap B main. It was a quick rebound, after a heat race crash folded his front end. Heat race winners included Forsberg, Colby Wiesz, T. Carrick, and John Clark. Blake Carrick turned the fastest lap in qualifying with a 12.713. An impressive 33 winged 360 sprints attended the race.


Mike Hall led the first eight laps of the Crate Sprint feature event. On lap nine, Michael Kaiser took the lead by running the high scary side. Kaiser was electric as he throttled the top of the track in turns one and two and nailed the bottom line through three and four. Just as impressive was Misty Castleberry’s second place finish. She started on the front row, but by lap two had slipped to fifth. Castleberry never gave up and battled her way back into second on lap 14. Hard charging Jason Ballentine started tenth and by lap 15, he moved into third spot. Hall fell back to a fourth-place spot. Britton Bock ran in the top five for all 20-laps and ended up placing fifth. There was nearly a photo finish for sixth spot. Why was this important? Castleberry Racing and the Marysville Flea Market posted an extra $1,000 in the purse for the top five in the main event. However, they stipulated that is Misty finished in the top five, then she would not be able to win her own money, so the bonus would carry over to the sixth-place driver. That turned out to be Jacob Johnson. Speaking of Johnson, he won the first heat race while Bock won the second eight-lap heat race.


Todd Cooper has been missed on the Marysville Raceway surface. Cooper made a rare start in the Shelby owned No. 86, and like Michael Jackson, he didn’t miss a beat. Cooper showed his championship pedigree and held off his brother Brian Cooper for an exciting win. Brian moved into second place with seven laps to go. The two raced hard for the lead, but Brian was never able to officially lead a lap. Shaun Merritt drove a smart race and finished in the third spot. Shaun did a great job racing with the Coopers. Jimmy Ford was in contention all night and finished fourth. Mike Merritt rebounded from an early spin and drove up to a fifth-place finish. Michael Helwig scored an eighth-place finish and picked up an extra $100 from Paul Olmsted Plastering. Mike Merritt won the first heat race. Jeremy Phillips was a smooth operator and won the second eight lap heat race.


Full results can be found at