Ross, Forsberg, Brown Jr., Youngman Win on Opening Night

Ross, Forsberg, Brown Jr., Youngman Win on Opening Night


Ross, Forsberg, Brown Jr. and Youngman Win on Opening Night

(3/13/21)…Corning’s Keith Ross bested a 30-car field of Hobby Stocks to win the 20-lap feature event Saturday night at Marysville Raceway.  The Hobby Stocks were the class of the field with the surplus of cars on opening night.  Ross led all 20-laps and was shadowed by Yuba City’s Howard Law for the entirety of the event.  While those two were up front, third on back was a battle royale.  The race was slowed by six separate cautions throughout the event.  The first caution happened on lap one Tim McHenry and Cody Rickard parked their cars in turn one.  On lap nine David Cooper spun in tur three and came to a stop.  He then put his elbows up and charged back through the field and finished fourth.  Jerry Bartlett is celebrating his 45th season being involved in one form or another with racing and he was up front racing hard until he veered to the infield on lap ten.  Zach Lindgren ran up front all night and finished a solid third.  Jesse Van Roekel started his championship charge with a fifth-place finish.

Shannon Collins won the 12-lap B main event.  Collins started in the back of the feature and charged his way into the top ten until a mechanical failure forced him of the track.  Ross won the first heat race.  Law won the eight-lap second heat race.  Lindgren dominated the third heat.  Kyle Cheney enjoyed a strong win in heat four.

Auburn’s Andy Forsberg won the 25-lap winged 360 sprint car main event.  It marked his 186th career sprint car win.  His long-time rival and friend Sean Becker finished second.  It was a pleasure to see watch two of our sports Hall of Fame icons battle it out.  Shout out to early leader Jake Haulot.  He led the first 17-laps.  Haulot stumbled a bit while trying to pass a slower car and that is when Forsberg and Becker were able to pass him.  Haulot finished third.  Rookie sprint car driver Dylan Bloomfield was spectacular.  Dylan ran in the top five all night and finished fourth.  Billy Wallace rounded out the top five.  Josh Wiesz held off Becker to win heat one.  Forsberg grabbed the win in heat two.  Becker won the $100 bonus in qualifying by turning the fastest lap at 13.038.

Crate Sprint car division put on another great show tonight.  Jason Ballentine rocketed to the early lead.  However, his front wing post broke and it seemed to disrupt the car.  Bret Youngman was far behind at that point but soon closed in.  Youngman took the lead on lap 18 and went on to win the 20-lap race by over one-second.  David Simms turned in another solid run and finished third.  Cameron Haney Jr. started eighth but quickly moved up the standings and finished fourth.  He also received an extra $100 from Paul Olmsted Plastering for his fourth-place finish.  Mike Ballentine won the first heat.  Jason Ballentine won the second heat.

Defending track champion Dan Brown Jr. won the 20-lap Limited Late Model feature.  Rod Oliver dominated the first half of the race but on lap 12 Brown Jr. passed for the lead.  Once Brown Jr. got up front he checked out and won the race by over four-seconds.  Oliver hung on for second.  Jay Norton finished in the third spot.  Jimmy Ford came home fourth. Oliver led all eight laps to win the first heat.

Full results