Sixth Different Sprint Car Winner in Six Races

Sixth Different Sprint Car Winner in Six Races


(April 17, 2021)                                                       FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Wallace is Sixth Different Winner at Marysville Raceway

Grass Valley’s Billy Wallace became the sixth different winged 360 sprint car winner this season at Marysville Raceway.  Parity is the name of the game this season during the sprint car ranks as the track has seen six different winners during six nights of hosting a sprint car event this year.  Wallace was dominant the first half of the show.  Things got tense for Wallace on lap 13 when Colby Wiesz closed in on him.  Those two were battling amongst slower traffic.  Wallace was able to negotiate things better than Wiesz and extended his lead.  However, a lap 20 spin by James Taylor closed things up for the final five laps.  Wallace held true to his line and held off Wiesz to get the win.  It was a nice night for Steel Powell.  Earlier, he collected a $100 bonus for fast time.  During the main event he was started fourth, fell back to fifth and worked his way around Korey Lovell with four laps to go to finish third.  Lovell had another strong showing and finished fourth.  Kevin Lovell needed a new top wing after a roll over in his heat race but that did not slow him down.  Kevin finished fifth.  Wiesz jumped out early and won the first eight lap heat race.  Rookie Dawson Hammes showed everyone else the fast way around Marysville Raceway and won heat two.  Kao Crane finished seventh in the main event and picked up a $100 bonus from Paul Olmsted Plastering.

Ryan Winter led 20 of the 25-laps to win the Dwarf Car main event.  It was his second consecutive win in the Dwarf Cars at Marysville.  A nice turnout of 24 cars graced the pit area.  Twenty cars made the show and at first it looked like a familiar face would have a solid night.  Mike Grenert led the first five laps until his car started to act up on the track.  Less than three laps later he came to a stop and brought out a yellow.  Up front it was now Winter’s turn to lead.  Winter dominated the show.   The only thing that slowed him down was a lap 22 caution.  Up to that point he had a sizable lead.  In fact, he was so good, Winter lapped up to the ninth spot.  Shawn Whitney turned in another solid effort.  He tried to stay with Winter at times after the final restart.  Whitney should be happy with a second spot finish.  Dan Geil scooted from his 11th starting spot to finish third.  Mike Reeder maneuvered from 9th to 4th during the 25-lap race.  Corey Eaton charged from 12th to fifth and electrified the crowd with some amazing driving.  Brandon Shaw captured the first eight lap heat race.  Winter won heat two.  Ben Wiesz won the third heat.  Whitney got the popular win in heat four.  Austin Struthers won the 12-lap B main event.  Carl Droivold, Robert Kozinski and Jamison Sole all transferred with Struthers to the feature event.

Joel Hannagan bested a five-car field to win the Vintage Hardtop main 15-lap main event.  Hannagan also won the eight-lap heat race.  On the second lap of the feature event Ron Ruiz crashed into the turn one wall and did not return.