William Fielding Wins Fantastic Sprint Car Race

William Fielding Wins Fantastic Sprint Car Race


Marysville Raceway (530.350.7275)                         www.marysvilleraceeway.com


Spectacular Night of Racing


Marysville, CA – (5-14-22) …By far, last night was the best night of racing this year at Marysville Raceway. Not only was the racing immaculate, but the final checkered flag waived at 9:35 PM. The divisions tonight included winged 360 sprints, IMCA Sport Mods, and Dwarf Cars. This billing was spectacular and featured close racing without an overabundance of cautions.


The winged 360 sprint car main event started with 20 drivers going 25 laps. Jake Haulot jumped out to the early lead. Cody Spencer, the nights fast time qualifier, held down the second spot. On lap seven, Spencer had contact with a slower car that ultimately ended his night.  Seventh place starting William Fielding began to flex his muscle on lap five. From lap five to 10, he passed a car each lap to get himself into the second spot. Three laps later, Fielding and Haulot dueled in what could possibly be the best six laps the Raceway has ever seen. Both drivers swapped the lead back and forth. One lap it was Haulot. Then it was Fielding taking the lead. The crowd was going crazy. On lap 21, Fielding reassumed the lead. He would never give it back. Blake Carrick started to emerge as a contender for the win also. He passed Haulot on lap 22, but then drifted wide and Haulot got the spot back. Up front Fielding took the checkered flag first. He was ecstatic and so was his family and friends. Fielding was joined by more than 25 people in his victory lane photo. Haulot finished second. Carrick was third. Bobby Butler finished fourth and was consistently fast all night. Michael Wasina continued to impress and finished fifth.


Kevin Lovell won the 12-lap B main event. Also transferring to the A main were Josh Wiesz, Korey Lovell, and Peter Paulson.


Jeremy Phillips started fourth, took the lead on lap nine and held off a hard charging Damion Merritt to win the 20-lap IMCA Sport Mod main event. Merritt was all over Phillips for the last half of the race. Merritt led the first eight laps of the feature. Phillips did a great job of racing the track while holding off Merritt. It was a fun, entreating race. Scott Savell held the third spot for most of the race. Savell continues to be near the front each race. Jimmy Ford ran in the fourth spot. Richard Vander Ploeg rounded out the top five. Shaun Merritt won the first eight lap heat race. Phillips won the second heat race. A total of 14 drivers competed. All in all, another solid night of racing by this group.


Shawn Whitney and Mike Reeder put on a great battle up front during the 20-lap Dwarf Car main event. In the end, Whitney secured the win. Reeder finished second. Mike Grenert fell back a few spots at the start but then rallied for a third-place finish. Ben Wiesz started eight, then fell back to 11th, before charging back to the front and finishing fourth. Corey Eaton started 11th and with two laps remaining, passed Kevin Bender for fifth. The greatness of the Dwarf Cars was shown again tonight. Competitive racing throughout the field with little to no cautions. Well done by the 20 drivers that showed up tonight. Bender, Ben Wiesz and Mike Redder were all winners during their eight lap heat races.


Full results are here https://www.speedhive.com/Events/1981291