Forsberg Wins Hawes Memorial

Forsberg Wins Hawes Memorial

Forsberg Captures Hawes Memorial Win

(Marysville, CA 10/31/20)…Auburn’s Andy Forsberg won the Paul Hawes Memorial Sprint Spooktacular 20-lap winged 360 feature event Saturday night at Marysville Raceway.  Forsberg, who also won the 2020 track championship, took the lead on lap nine when he passed Nick Larsen.  It was Forsberg’s fourth main event win of 2020.  Credit should be given to Larson because it was the most laps, he has led this season at Marysville Raceway.  In the end, Larsen would slip back to third but still his best overall performance of 2020.  Shane Hopkins moved into second on lap 17 but was too far behind Forsberg to make any sort of a challenge.  The race was delayed on lap 17 when Michael Wasina stopped in turn three and needed medical assistance.  Wasina was complaining of back pain.  He was evaluated and ultimately exited the race car under his own and walked away.  After the delay, the race was shortened to 20-laps.  Forsberg was happy in victory lane and dedicated the win to his dog Mia because it was her sixth birthday.  Blake Carrick was solid and finished fourth.  Billy Wallace started 11th and finished fifth.

Cole Macedo put on a show tonight.  Macedo’s No. 20 sprinter did not respond for hot laps or qualifying.  This put him and his team behind the eight ball all night.  Yet, Macedo started 12th in the B main and charged his way to the win.  In the feature he started 13th and finished sixth.

Ryan Robinson was the fastest in qualifying.  His lap time was a 12.424.

Sponsors of the event in tribute to Paul Hawes included Paul Olmsted Plastering, Richard Anker, Kyle Standley, Bob Burbach, Troy White, Yuba City Scrap and Steel and All Works Auto Body and Paint.

Jimmy Ford led the first eight laps of the Sport Mod feature.  On lap nine third place starting Hunter Merritt took the lead.  Ford never gave up but give credit to Merritt who looked cool, calm, and collected in picking up the popular win.  Ford held on for second.  Todd Cooper made a rare start and did not disappoint.  Cooper finished third.  Shawn Smith had a solid night and finished fourth.  Scott Savell rounded out the top five.

The first three laps of the wingless spec sprint feature might have been the best racing of the night.  Three drivers swapped the top spot.  Timmy Sherman Jr., Josh Young and Shane Hopkins each sliced and diced for the lead.  Hopkins ultimately took the top spot and went on to lead the next 17 laps.  Boy Moniz was very impressive tonight.  Moniz drove by Young and then Sherman to finish in the second spot.  Young finished second.  Sherman Jr. was fourth.  Ron LaPlant rounded out the top five.  Ryan Owens was the hard charger and picked up $50 from Troy White.

Timmy Sherman Jr. was untouchable tonight.  He led all 15-laps in the Crate Sprints and got the win.  The race itself was a bit of a mess, taking over 25 mins and ended five laps short of their scheduled distance.  Of the ten cars that started, only four were running on lap 15.  David Simms took his time, avoided all the wrecks, and finished second.  Track champion Brett Youngman ran third.  Fourth went to Dusty Barton.

Full results are at