Ringo, Law and Cooper Win During Point Race Four

Ringo, Law and Cooper Win During Point Race Four


(April 10, 2021)                                                       FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Ringo Scores Big Win Saturday Night

Morgan Hill’s Nick Ringo led all 25-laps to win an exciting sprint car main event Saturday night at Marysville Raceway during championship auto racing point show number four.  Chico’s Brad Bumgarner did not make it easy on Ringo.  In fact, Bumgarner sailed into turn three on the final lap to try and pass Ringo for the win.  Unfortunately for Bumgarner the move ended in disaster as the family-owned No. 88 flipped upside down and then caught on fire.  Safety crew was on the scene quickly to help extinguish the fire and get Bumgarner out of the car safely.  The race restarted with two laps to g

  1. Ringo was able to hold last weeks winner, Jake Haulot, to get the win. Third went to Billy Wallace.  With the solid showing Wallace will continue to hold the championship point lead.  Korey Lovell earned a hard fought fourth place finish.  Kevin Lovell finished fifth.

Bumgarner was not the only driver to get upside down during the main event.  Oroville’s Nick Larsen started on the front row but spun in turn one to relinquish the spot.  Having to now charge from the back, Larsen got caught up in a lap three tangle that sent him for a wild ride.  He was uninjured but the car was not able to continue.  Right before that wreck, Kenny Wanderstadt rode up and over a right rear tire and looked to be headed upside down also, but luckily did not.  However, his car was too far damaged to continue.  Justin Henry won the second heat race.  Bumgarner cruised to the win in heat one.

Todd Cooper showed why he still has the heart of a championship driver.  Cooper dominated the 20-lap Sport Mod feature event.  Cooper led all 20-laps and held a three-second advantage over Jimmy Ford.  Second place finisher Ford started the race in seventh and did a great job as always methodically working his way through the field.  Scott Savell started ninth and finished third.  Damion Merritt did just as well as Savell.  Merritt started 10th and finished fourth.  While Todd was the star his poor brother Brian could not catch a break.  The beautiful No. 17c was crunched and mashed up and only registered two laps in the main event.  Brian did earn glory by winning the eight-lap heat race.  Savell barely held off Todd Cooper to win heat two.

Sixth place starting Howard Law passed Jacob Johnson on lap 10 and went on to win a marathon Hobby Stock feature event.  The 20-lap feature took nearly 50 minutes to complete and was slowed by 13 separate cautions, too numerous to recap individually.  Twelve of the starting 20 drivers were involved in at least one yellow flag.  Only nine cars were running on the 20th and final lap.  Up front Law was solid as usual.  He held a 1.207 second advantage over Johnson at the checkered.  Eleventh starting Zach Lindgren drove a smart race.  He avoided the wrecks and eased his way into a third-place finish.  Steady as a rock, Shannon Collins, also avoided the mayhem and finished fourth.  Ninth starting Devon Koranda rounded out the top five.  Props to Jim Brookshire who was the hard charger of the night.  Brookshire started 16th and finished 6th.

Jason Clayton led all 12-laps to win the Hobby Stock semi-main.  Robert Warf, Kyle Davey, and Chris McGinnis also transferred to the big dance.  Law won the opening eight-lap heat race.  Chris Van Roekel picked up the heat two win.  Jerry Bartlett dominated the third heat.  Cody Rickard won the fourth and final heat.

Full results available at  https://speedhive.mylaps.com/Events/1847292