Carrick, Castleberry, and Walters Win Toller Memorial Mains

Carrick, Castleberry, and Walters Win Toller Memorial Mains


Contact: Marysville Raceway;

Carrick, Castleberry, and Walters Win on Opening Night

MARYSVILLE, Calif., February 24, 2024…Lincoln’s Tanner Carrick proved to be too tough for the rest of the field and dominated the 30-lap winged 360 sprint car main event on Saturday night. Auburn’s Andy Forsberg led the first few laps. Forsberg admitted he saw Carrick try the bottom side of turns three and four and on the next lap went down lower to anticipate Carrick trying to pass him again. Yet, Carrick stayed on the top of the track and drove around Forsberg to the lead. From there on out Carrick was lights out. Carrick pocketed extra money $100 tonight from Mel’s Transmission for winning the main event and Paul Olmstead Plastering for turning the fastest lap in qualifying. Third place went to Dylan Bloomfield. Northern California will be in for a big treat this season watching Bloomfield and his team assert themselves as one of the top combinations this season. On lap 15, Carson Hall and Ashton Torgerson collided in turn two and came to a stop. Both were inside the top five before the accident.

Misty Castleberry enjoyed a clean sweep night at her home track. After winning her eight-lap heat race, Castleberry went on to dominate the 20-lap Crate Sprint main event. In doing so she picked up an extra $550 of cash from Hall and Castleberry Motorsports. Castleberry continues to be a popular figure around the raceway and her win was well received by the large crowd. Mike Hall, Jason Ballantine, and Mike Ballantine all provided the fans with a spirited battle throughout the 20-laps. Hall ended up holding off both Ballantine racers for second. Rick Holbrook rounded out the top five. Rookie driver Caleb Ingle narrowly held off Koa Crane for sixth.

The wingless main event was dominated by Reno, NV driver Trey Walters. A light car count didn’t hamper the nights’ racing and the division put on a good show. Walters was the class of the field all night and is a force to be reckoned with in the wingless division. Joshua Wooten finished a career best second place finish tonight at Marysville. Mark Hanson finished out the podium with a third pace finish. Shannon Newton was the final driver to finish the 20-lap race. Kaimi Moniz-Costa suffered two stops and was disqualified on lap six.