Hammes, Crane, and Cheney Win Exciting Main Events

Hammes, Crane, and Cheney Win Exciting Main Events

Hammes, Crane, and Cheney Win Exciting Main Events

MARYSVILLE, Calif., April 27, 2024…Excitement was in the air Saturday night at Marysville Raceway. A total of 51 cars participated in Championship Point Race No. 7. Leading the way with the most cars were the Turn-Key ATM Services Hobby Stocks with 22. A total of 15-winged 360 sprint cars joined 14 of the Dirt Solutions Crate Sprints. All three main events were exciting, and those winners included Dawson Hammes in the 360 sprints, Koa Crane in the Crate Sprints, and Kyle Cheney in the Hobby Stocks. It was Hammes first win of the season while Crane won his third main event and Cheney picked up his second win of the season.

The 25-lap 360 sprint car main event was dominated by one family. Dawson Hammes jumped out to the early lead only to be followed by younger brother Carson Hammes. The two racers put on a driving clinic as they showed great speed, but also the ability to navigate around slower cars. Dawson led all 25-laps while Carson ran second the entirety of the race. Drake Standley started sixth but by lap nine he had raced his way into third. Drake showed speed all night long. Kenny Wanderstadt started fifth, fell back to seventh early in the race and then rebounded to finish fourth. Billy Wallace rounded out the top five. Dawson was joined in victory lane by his family, crew members, and Carson.

Kyle Cheney earned tonight’s 20-lap main event win. He passed Jason Clayton Jr. on lap one and went on to lead the next 19 laps without any sort of issues. Howard Law started fifth and methodically moved past other cars to claim the second spot on lap 13. The final few laps were tight, as Cheney survived a late race restart to hold off the hard charging Law. It was Cheney’s second consecutive win at Marysville Raceway. “I guess you could say that we beat the Law tonight,” said Cheney in his post-race interview. Law finished second. Third place went to Clayton Jr. who drove a great race all night. Jason Clayton Sr. started eighth in the race and on lap 18 passed Ken Reische for fourth.

The Crate Sprints was the best main event of the night. The fans saw the lead swap spots three times during the final two laps. Koa Crane took the lead away from Tyler George on lap nine. A few laps later, Matthew Kaiser passed Hall for second. This would set up quite possibly the most dramatic finish in the short history of the Crate Sprints. Coming to the white flag, Kaiser passed Crane on the bottom of the track. The two were racing amongst slower cars. As Kaiser raced back around the track as the leader, he too, drifted wide coming out of turn four and Crane took the lead back. Crane led the final few feet to secure his third win of the season. Third spot went to Derek Droivold. After leading eight laps tonight, George hung on to finish fourth. Misty Castleberry rounded out the fifth spot.

Nick Larson turned the fastest lap in qualifying at 12.640. Dawson Hammes won the first eight lap sprint car heat race. We were all impressed with newcomer Adrianna DeMartini when she won the second heat race.

Castleberry dominated the rest of her competition in heat one. Kaiser showed the way in heat two for the Crate Sprints.

Jason Clayton Jr. won the first eight lap heat race in the Hobby Stocks. Devin Korana showed good speed in winning heat two. Cheney was victorious in heat three.

Racing resumes this Saturday night, May 4th, and features the 360 sprints, Crate Sprints, and Dwarf Cars.

Full results from tonight’s race can be found at https://speedhive.mylaps.com/events/2585982


Photo Credit Ally Strole / as.photography