Bumgarner, Law, and Madden Tame the Heat and Win at Marysville

Bumgarner, Law, and Madden Tame the Heat and Win at Marysville


Marysville Raceway (530.350.7275)                         www.marysvilleraceeway.com


Bumgarner, Law, and Madden Tame the Heat and Win at Marysville


Marysville, CA – (7-23-22) …With temperatures above 100 degrees, the heat wasn’t the only thing making things hot at Marysville Raceway. Three divisions were on hand during point race number 13, and the racing was just as heated as the temperature outside.


Chico’s Brad Bumgarner won the 25-lap winged 360 sprint car main event with a daring move on lap 13 that saw him maneuver his way through the middle of two slower cars down the front stretch. Up to that point, William Fielding had been the car to beat. Fielding was looking for his third win of the season and back-to-back wins at Marysville. Coming from the third row, Bumgarner drove a brilliant race to put himself into the position to take the lead. As Fielding was bottled up dealing with slower traffic, Bumgarner made a split-second decision to pass all three cars, two of them lapped cars, to thrust out into the lead. From there he used his veteran driving skills in driving the family-owned No. 88 to power away from the rest of the field. Fielding held on for the runner up spot in Jim Richardson’s No. 8 car. Bobby Butler finished in the third spot. Butler will continue as the point leader heading into the next race. Nick Larsen was competitive all night and finished fourth. Billy Wallace rounded out the top five with a fifth-place finish.


It was Bumgarner’s fourth career sprint car win at Marysville but his first win since last season when he won a race at Antioch. “I am so happy to win, but also happy for my family who put so much into keeping the Bumgarner No 88 out on the track after all these years,” said Bumgarner. Roles were reversed in qualifying as Fielding set the top mark with a 12.950 and Bumgarner getting the second quickest time. Butler and Larsen each won their eight-lap heat race.


Chase Madden dominated the 20-lap nonstop Crate Sprint main event. Chasing Chase for the entirety of the race was Jeff Macedo. Chase and Jeff each did a good job racing their line and working through slower traffic. Mike Ballentine was in the top three until a mechanical issue forced him to the infield around the halfway point. This moved Britton Bock into the third spot, and that is where he would finish.  Matthew Kaiser continues to impress and finished fourth. Starting in the fifth row, Jason Ballentine methodically moved towards the front and finished fifth. Macedo won the first eight lap heat race. Brett Youngman dominated the second heat race. The Crate Sprints will return for their championship night on August 27th.


Howard Law continued his winning ways but capturing the 20-lap Hobby Stock main event for the fifth time this season. Law has shown that his ability as a driver and his car are the perfect combination of skill and speed to get back to victory lane again. Law took the lead away from Paul Stevens on lap 14. Stevens proceeded to fall to fourth coming out of the last turn on the last lap. Both Kyle Cheney and Zach Lindgren passed Stevens to move into second and third at the finish line. Cheney and Lindgren were fun to watch as they both started in the fifth row, avoided the accidents and debris, and raced their way to a second and third place finish. It’s been a pleasure to watch both drivers this season too. Another driver on the move was 13th place starting David Allen. On lap 17, he moved into the fifth position. Drivers finishing sixth through 10th included Jacob Bright, Shannon Collins, Preston Hughes, Joe Gillock, and 20th starting George Abella finished 10th.  On lap seven, things went awry for Jacob Johnson, Phil Shelby, and Keith Ross. These three drivers were running third through fifth when they all unexpectedly had issues and were done for the night. Johnson won the first eight lap heat race. Collins got the win in heat two. Ross earned top honors in heat race three.


Full results located here https://www.speedhive.com/Events/2021304