Butler Back to Victory Lane

Butler Back to Victory Lane


Butler Back to Victory Lane


(Marysville, CA 7/29/23)…The 2022 Marysville Raceway track champion Bobby Butler led all 25-laps to secure his first win of the season in the 360 sprint car division. Butler had high hopes of repeating as track champion this season, but a surplus of mechanical issues and being in the wrong spot at the wrong time has sidelined that goal. Yet, like a true champion, Butler never let the heartbreak of racing get him too down. Tonight, he showed everyone that he was back in top form and ready to close out the season with a bang. Butler is a popular driver at Marysville and following the win Butler was greeted with numerous fans and friends in victory lane. William Fielding chased Butler for all 25 laps but never got close enough to challenge him for the win. Fielding started the night by turning the quickest lap in qualifying with a 13.061. Fielding drove the famed Richardson No. 8 to a solid second place finish. Dawson Hammes drove a great race and charged to a third-place finish. Brad Bumgarner rose the ranks to finish fourth. After contact on lap one with Brian McGahan Jr., Drake Standley charged from the rear of the field to finish fifth. Standley picked up the win in heat race one. Butler earned the top spot in heat race two. A total of 17 cars attended tonight’s race.


Mike Ballantine led the first three laps of the Crate Sprint 20-lap feature event until Carl Droivold drove by for the lead. Droivold would go on to lead the final 17-laps and secure his third win of the year. Misty Castleberry started fourth and by lap 12 she moved into the second spot. Castleberry pressured Droivold but was never able to find a way into the lead. Matthew Kaiser was solid all night and finished third. Jacob Johnson started seventh and on the last lap passed Kelly Hicks for the fourth spot. Droivold and Castleberry continue their championship battle on August 12th. Kaiser and Castleberry each won their eight-lap heat race. A total of 13 drivers competed tonight.


Howard Law has been unstoppable. Tonight, Law secured his 6th win overall and third win in a row at his home track. The defending track champion has elevated his game and with just one more race in the season he leads the points. Law led all 20-laps to secure the win. Zach Lindgren chased Law for all 20-laps. Lindgren has been the most consistent driver to challenge Law this season. Fifth place starting Kyle Cheney finished in the third spot. Joe Gillock finished fourth. Cheney and Gillock won their heat races earlier in the night. Fifth place went to Brian Horn. Overall, 19 drivers attended this race.


Racing returns this Saturday night, August 5th, with kid’s bike night. Winged 360 sprints, IMCA Sport Mods, and Vintage Hardtops are the three scheduled divisions. Kids 11 and under will be admitted for free if they are accompanied by a paying adult.


Full results from the race tonight can be found here https://speedhive.com/Events/2326213