Butler, Ford, and Bock Achieve Championship Goals

Butler, Ford, and Bock Achieve Championship Goals


Marysville Raceway (530.350.7275)                         www.marysvilleraceeway.com


Butler, Ford, and Bock Achieve Championship Goals


Marysville, CA – (8-27-22) …After a season long battle, three champions were crowned Saturday night at the Marysville Raceway. Bobby Butler was crowned the king of the winged 360 sprint cars. Joining Butler at the top of the mountain was Jimmy Ford in the IMCA Sport Mods, and Britton Bock in the Crate Winged Sprints. Marysville Raceway wants to congratulate these three drivers for a great season.


Nineteen-year-old Dawson Hammes picked up his first career winged 360 feature event Saturday night by leading all 25-laps in impressive style. Hammes did a fantastic job navigating the rough surface and working his way through slower traffic. Chasing him at the finish line was William Fielding. On the last lap, Fielding passed Seth Standley for the spot. Standley enjoyed a career best finish at Marysville. For most of the race, he ran in the second spot trying to keep pace with Hammes. Brad Bumgarner finished fourth. With his strong run the entire night, Bumgarner moved up three sports in the points to finish fifth. Josh Wiesz passed Carson Hall with three to go and earned a fifth-place finish. Butler was running in the top five until late in the race he was involved with a spin that sent him to the back. At that point, his finishing position didn’t matter because he has already locked up the championship. After the checkered flag he parked the No. 57b on the front stretch and was surrounded by over 50 friends and family members. Carson Hall finished the race in sixth and earned the rookie of the year honors for the division.


Bumgarner picked up the fast time award by turning a lap of 12.841. Wiesz, Peter Paulson, and Standley all won their eight-lap heat race. A total of 22 cars attended the final point show.


The IMCA Sport Mod 20-lap main event was a good one. Buddy Olschowka led the fist few laps. On lap three Jason Clayton overtook Buddy for the lead. Clayton went on to lead the next eleven laps until tagging the wall in turn one. This allowed eighth place starting Todd Cooper to take the lead. Ninth place starting Jace Wright was shadowing Cooper and moved into second. Cooper began to pull away the final few laps and won the race by over two-seconds. Wright ran a solid second. Damian Merritt came home in the third spot. Olschowka finished fourth. Shaun Merritt rounded out the top five. It was impressive to watch both Cooper and Wright finish first and second after starting so deep in the field. Jimmy Ford finished seven and it was good enough for him to claim his first IMCA Sport Mod title at Marysville. Ford had finished second the previous two years, and it felt good to see all his hard work pay off tonight. Ford won the first eight lap heat race. Wright secured the win in heat two.


Matthew Kaiser led the first lap only to get passed by Tyler George on lap two. Kaiser battled back and by lap three he was the leader again. Kaiser would go on to lead the remaining 17 laps and pick up the win. For the final 10 laps Brett Youngman was right behind Kaiser. Youngman was never able to find his way around for the lead. Kelly Hicks ran in the third sport for the final nine laps of the race. Championship winner Britton Bock had an up and down race. He started third but on lap three stopped. He restarted 11th and charged back to a fourth-place finish. It was an impressive season for Bock and his team. Bock never finished outside of the top five in seven starts. Jason Ballentine had a roller coaster of an event like Bock. He started eighth, charged to second, but then on lap nine stopped. Went to the back of the pack and drove his way to a fifth-place finish. Jacob Johnson finished sixth and wrapped up the rookie of the year award. Mike Ballantine and Bock each won their heat race tonight.


The updated 2022 Marysville Raceway season points are available at www.marysvilleraceway.com


Once again, congratulations to our four track champions this year Howard Law, hobby stock, Bobby Butler, Jimmy Ford and Britton Bock.