Carrick, Steck, and Kaiser all Winners at Toller Race

Carrick, Steck, and Kaiser all Winners at Toller Race


Tanner Carrick Gets First Win of 2023

(Marysville, CA 3/3/23)…Lincoln’s Tanner Carrick led all 25-laps Friday night to win the 15th edition of the Sherm and Loree Toller Memorial. Carrick’s triumph earned him $2,000. Carrick held off Auburn’s Andy Forsberg and a hard charging Dawson Hammes of Marysville. The top three put on a good show up front. Missing from the finish was Cameron Park’s Cody Spencer who hit the wall in turn one on lap two. The race resumed after the lap two incident and went 23 nonstop laps.  Chico’s Brad Bumgarner charged from ninth to a fantastic fourth place finish. Luke Hayes was locked on hammer-down mode and advanced from 11th starting spot to a fifth-place finish. Forsberg turned the fastest lap in qualifying with a 12.647. Hammes won the first eight lap heat race. Carrick dominated heat two. Carrick was a magician during the 25-lap feature as he flawlessly navigated slower traffic. It was an impressive win for the 21-year-old who is primed for a huge year in 2023.


Roseville’s Brent Steck is top notch sprint car racer. His new nickname should be “The Show.” Steck started sixth in the lone eight lap heat race and won. From there he led all 20 laps to win the main event. As with Carrick, we think 2023 could be a breakout year for Steck. Kaimi Moniz-Costa earned the hard charger award of the night. It was with $60 cash from Troy White. Moniz-Costa went from fifth to second. Trey Walters is a solid race car driver. On a lap two restart, Walters slid Steck for the lead going into turn one. Walters was unable to make it stick but should be commended for his resourceful attempt. Unfortunately, a lap later a mechanical issue slowed his drive and he pulled into the infield. Josh Gillis was a rocket ship tonight. He was in the second spot and closed on Steck a few times, but his race ended on lap 16 when he smacked the back stretch wall that resulted in a right rear flat. Kevin Box moved into a third place finish and was the last car on the lead lap.


Matthew Kaiser won the 20-lap Crate Wing Sprint feature event. Tonight, showed why he should be considered the favorite to win the track championship in 2023. Kaiser was on rails all night and looked comfortable leading up front. Jacob Johnson did a great job to finish in the second spot. Johnson was over seven seconds behind Kaiser at the checkered flag. Mike Ballentine finished on the podium tonight with another solid run. Cameron Haney Jr. finished fourth. Heat race winner Jason Ballentine had a front-end issue on the opening lap.


Special thanks to Paul Olmstead Plastering, Mel’s Transmission and Troy White for sponsoring the race.