Law Was Enforced on Saturday Night

Law Was Enforced on Saturday Night


Marysville Raceway


Law Goes Back-to-Back in Hobby Stock Main Event


Marysville, CA – (4-9-22) … Howard Law led all 20-laps to secure his second consecutive Hobby Stock main event win. While Law never surrendered the lead, the chaos behind him was fast and furious. At one point Keith Ross was right behind Law, but on lap seven mechanical problems sidelined Ross. Next up was Toby Merrifield to challenge Law.  But two laps later, Kyle Cheney moved past Merrifield for second. The real hero of the night was Zach Lindgren.  Zach won the 12-lap B main event.  Lindgren started 17th and avoided all the racing mishaps to get into the top five by lap 14.  On lap 17 he passed Merrifield for the third spot.  It was a great run towards the front. Merrifield finished in the fourth spot.  Jesse Van Roekel rounded out the top five.


A staggering 28 Hobby Stocks competed during Saturday nights point race No. 5.  Merrifield won the first eight lap heat race.  Travis Moore was triumphant in heat two. Ross won the third heat race.  Main event winner Howard Law grabbed the win in heat race number four.


The Hobby Stock B main event was halted for a bit on lap five when a scary situation unfolded.  Jim Brookshire and Ricky Lloyd drifted off the back stretch and headed towards the infield. Brookshire proceeded to slam into the turn three light pole that was protected by big tractor tires. The high-speed accident resulted in Brookshire’s car badly damaged. Eventually Brookshire emerged from the car and walked away.  Lloyd’s car ended up in the infield dirt pile. Lloyd was also uninjured.


Shaun Merritt led the first 17 laps of the IMCA Sport Mod main until disaster struck.  Merritt spun going through turns one and two and relinquished the lead to hard charging Jeremy Phillips. At the same time, Jimmy Ford moved into the second spot.  The top two would battle it out, but Phillips held on to win.  Sixth starting Richard Vander Ploeg started sixth and by lap 14 he was second.  Unfortunately, two laps later his night came to an end. Scott Savell went from second on lap ten, to seventh on lap 11.  He rebounded to finish third at the checkered flag. Shannon Barton traveled from the ninth starting spot to finish fourth. Early leader Merritt rounded out the top five. Ford won the first heat. Phillip Shelby won the second heat race.


Medford, OR driver Camden Robustelli won his first career winged 360 sprint car main event at Marysville by leading all 25 laps.  The surprise winner is no stranger to the raceway. Robustelli has raced Dwarf Cars at the track in the past. Chasing Robustelli, the entirety of the race was Harrisburg, OR racer Tyler Thompson.  Interrupting the Oregon domination was Chico’s Brad Bumgarner who passed Thompson on the final lap to secure the second-place finish.  Dennis Scherer drove a solid race and finished fourth. Korey Lovell used his veteran skills and rounded out the top five. Three hard charging drivers included Michael Wasina who started 12th and finished sixth, 14th starting Koen Shaw came home 7th, and Bobby Butler who started 15th and finished eighth.


Carson Hall turned the quickest lap in qualifying at a 13.637 second lap.  He earned an extra $100 from Paul Olmsted Plastering. Chance Grasty won the first eight lap heat race. Dennis Scherer wins the second heat race. Robustelli grabbed the win in heat three. Wasina walked away with the heat four win.


Full results available at