Merritt and McGahan Jr. Back in Victory Lane

Merritt and McGahan Jr. Back in Victory Lane


McGahan Jr. and Merritt Earn Second Wins of Season


(Marysville, CA 8/4/23)…Corning’s Brian McGahan Jr. led the final laps to win his second feature event of the year at Marysville Raceway. With the win, McGahan Jr. added to his massive championship point lead with two races remaining in the season. McGahan Jr. made an impressive move to pass Koa Crane late in the race. Crane had led the first 21 laps and looked poised to secure his first career win. On lap 23, Crane’s night ended when contact between himself and Brad Bumgarner sent his car up and over in turn three. Bumgarner continued and finished second. Bobby Butler was competitive all night and finished a solid third. Nick Larson was in the top five all night and finished fourth. Billy Wallace continued his late season surge and finished fifth. William Fielding earned the hard charger award by finishing in the sixth spot. Butler set the track on fire in qualifying by turning the fastest lap at 12.646. McGahan Jr. and Crane each won their eight-lap heat races. A total of 15 winged 360 sprints attended the night’s racing action.


Hunter Merritt returned to victory lane for the second time of the year. Merritt, along with Jason Clayton Jr., Jimmy Ford, and Raymond Lindeman all provided some of the night’s best racing action during the 20-lap main event. The final lap was as good as it gets. Clayton Jr. dove to the bottom of Merritt going into the third turn. Yet, his momentum carried him up the track. Merritt, who was the leader, slammed on his brakes, let Clayton Jr. slide all the way to the top of the track and then drove back by him to take the win. It was a smart, calculated move by Merritt. Clayton Jr. should also get props for giving it all his car could give going for the win. The crowd loved it. Ford was up near the front all night and finished third. Ford held off Mike Merritt late in the race. Merritt in turn held off Lindeman for the fourth spot. Hunter Merritt swept the night by winning the second heat race of the night. KC Carpenter won the first eight-lap heat. A total of 11 cars attended the race tonight.


Mario Romano won the 12-lap Vintage Hardtop race. His lone competitor Joe Shenfeld finished second.


The annual kids bike night was a success. Multiple bike races took place on the front stretch. The winners received trophies while others won ribbons. The track also raffled off four bikes thanks to Mike Monahan, Jimmy Ford and T-Time Racing, and the Marysville Raceway.


Racing resumes this Saturday night, August 12th. Winged 360 sprint cars, Crate Sprints, Western Midgets, and the Hobby Stocks.