Sargent Soars to Opening Night win at Marysville

Sargent Soars to Opening Night win at Marysville

Marysville, CA (September 25, 2015)…Matt Sargent had a perfect night in the Pro division during the 20th Annual Dwarf Car Nationals at Marysville Raceway Friday night. Sargent lined up on the front row during heat race number four and went on to get the win. After his 10-lap heat race triumph, Sargent started in the third row of the 20-lap feature event. While Sargent didn’t lead the most laps, he did get to the front when he passed Ryan Winter with a few circuits to go. Sargent surged to the checkered flag and won the opening night of the Dwarf Car Nationals. Winter finished in the second spot. Ryan Diatte brought the #3v home in third. Ronnie Williams drove a hard fought race to finish fourth. Dave Mosier rounded out the top five. 

A total of 94 dwarf cars stuffed the compact Marysville Raceway pit area. Thirty-nine of them were entered in the Pro divisions. Twenty-seven drivers signed up for the Sportsman division. Twenty-eight cars hit the track for the Veteran class. While wining is the first goal of any driver, the real goal was to finish in the top ten during any of the three different main events ran tonight. If you finished in the top 10, that driver was locked into the Saturday nights main event. 

The Veteran division showcased Scott Dahlgren and Angel Figueroa battling it out on the track. Dahlgren moved ahead of Figueroa and went on to get the win. Buddy Olschowka drove a solid race to finish third. Brian Quilty and Kevin Miragilo each secured a top five main event finish. 

Sportsman division main event was shortened to 15-laps after numerous early race cautions. Thomas Leiby passed Curtis Craig and Chris Kenner to get the win. Colby Wiesz charged from the back to finish fourth. Matt Hagemann finished fifth.

The finale of the Dwarf Car Nationals takes place tonight. Over 100 dwarf cars are expected to compete.