Track Champions Honored at Banquet

Track Champions Honored at Banquet


Champions Honored at Marysville Raceway Banquet


(Marysville, CA 11/10/23)…The 2023 racing season at Marysville Raceway officially came to end at the Feather Fall Casino banquet room on Friday night, November 10th. A large gathering of nearly 150 people attended the end of the season awards banquet. The night featured a great dinner, followed by tons of dessert options. A 2023 racing video played in the background during the evening. We were on hand to not only recognize the four track champions, but also the top five in points and any other driver inside the top 10 that showed up to get a trophy.


The night kicked off with the special Dale Wondergem trophy being presented to the Wallace Racing. Unfortunately, neither Billy of Larry were able to make it in person, but both were informed of the award and were very thankful for the honor. It was also revealed that the Raceway will get a new scoreboard for the 2024 racing season. Thanks to the generosity of James and Misty Castleberry, they were able to purchase the new scoreboard, and as of this writing, the plan is to have it installed and functionable by the first race of 2024.


Once the awards began to be distributed, there was no doubt that Hobby Stock champion Howard Law was the highlight of the night. Sitting close to the podium with his crew and family, Law interacted with track announcer Troy Hennig and the two bantered back and forth throughout the ceremony. Law was funny and entertaining. Law was then invited up front to receive the track championship trophy and check. It was his second year in a row that Law was the champion in the Hobby Stock division. Law was able to tell it like it is, jumping from thoughts about his fellow competitors and even poking fun at track officials and promoter Dennis Gage.


Other track champions honored tonight included IMCA Sport Mod driver Jason Clayton Jr., Crate Sprint driver Carl Droivold, and winged-360 champion driver Brian McGahan Jr. All three drivers talked about their championship season and were quick to thank their families, crew members and fellow drivers.


Separate awards included Rookie of the year drivers Carson Hammes for the winged 360 sprints, Austin Shelby in the Hobby Stocks, and Jason Clayton Sr. in the IMCA Sport Mods. The most improved in the Crate Sprints was awarded to Tyler George.


On behalf of Marysville Raceway, we want to thank all the competitors, crew members, fans, officials, track safety workers, concessions, security, and everyone else who played a role in the 2023 season. We are looking forward to a successful 2024 season.